Paying Attention

Introduction

The New York Times Sunday paper, The NY Times app, BBC app, CNN.com, The Star Tribune, Fox News, The Daily Show, The Colbert Report, and the Bible | where I go for a weekly overview of the world, my up to the minute national coverage, decent insight into international issues, an occasional entertaining story, something to look at while I microwave my food in the break-room, what I try to tune out while eating in the café, the only show that seems to “get it,” pure catharsis for a disillusioned millennial, and a reminder that God is in control.  In short, my best attempt to process the news.  For the most part, it’s been working for me.  At least, I think so.  Well, define “working…”

I believe we have a duty to be aware of what is going on in the world.  As Edmund Burke famously put it, “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing”…or something like that.  The point is that although the news is depressing, rampant with its own corruption, and fairly uninspired, it is, perhaps, the only way to know what is broken in the world and needing our help.

But at what cost is our attention given?  What truly requires our focus and what is simply the proverbial squeaky wheel taking all the oil we have?  Does “staying current,” and helping our Facebook friends keep apprised, amount to any real good, or are we simply dealing in the realms of perception?

This will be the topic of conversation here between two old friends.  Josh Dorman and I went to university together. We were dorm neighbors, fellow leaders, study buddies, partners in crime, and water park enthusiasts together.  Now, while I have stayed in the area for ministry and lay work, Dorman finds himself studying in Germany, preparing to be a scholar I am sure.  Though we are now worlds apart, we have both been wrestling with these questions.  So, as we’ve done many times prior, we will prod and provoke each other towards greater truth over the topic at hand.

Since it was Josh who initially asked this question of me, I will have him open up the topic in the next post.  Then, I will respond in kind.  This will continue until we have arrived at a meaningful conclusion, or until we, or the topic, is exhausted.  Take it away, Dorman!

About Adam

I am a old Christian seeking to become new. I want to know and follow Jesus: the "New Adam" who made the way back to Paradise. I graduated from North Central University with a degree in Business and a Bible Minor. I married my wife Tori in June of 2011 in Colorado. Our ceremony could be best described as pseudo-Quaker. Our reception was a farm-to-table communion meal. Our wedding dance: essentially a music festival. It was a full picture of our ministry as a couple. I grew up in the Dakotas. It's not my favorite location in the world. I have a dad, a mom, and a sister. My parents have been together for about 30 years. We love each other, but it's a bit dysfunctional. I am now a free lance gardener. I promote gardening, community, and preferably a combination thereof.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Worthy News: a Dialogue and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

