How Choking Someone To Death Is Legal

Over the past two weeks I have been incessantly asking that people read The New Jim Crow.  The book was instrumental in my understanding of the systemic racism very much alive in our justice system, and the way in which our justice system was formed with racist intent from the beginning.  I know that seems like a leap to many people, including me 5 years ago, but to that I will simply say again: read the book.

Pertaining to the Eric Garner case where an officer used a chokehold to subdue a man to death in NYC, there is a lot of helpful background information that author Michelle Alexander provides about this once standard maneuver, and the legal action that has been attempted to discourage its use.  I will post this excerpt in its entirety that I found most helpful to explain why the action that the coroner ruled a homicide yielded no indictment for the officer who perpetrated the violent act.

The three pages pictured below will hopefully provide insight into why people are taking to the streets over the issue instead of using the system for reform.

wpid-20141209_210745.jpg

First page from The New Jim Crow. A little fuzzy, but worth the read.

wpid-20141209_210431.jpg

Page 2.

Page 3.

Page 3.

So as you can see, it was a virtual impossibility for there to be justice for Eric Garner, or the next person who this happens to.  The only way justice can be done is if clamor for it.  Hence, the need for protests.

About Adam

I am a old Christian seeking to become new. I want to know and follow Jesus: the "New Adam" who made the way back to Paradise. I graduated from North Central University with a degree in Business and a Bible Minor. I married my wife Tori in June of 2011 in Colorado. Our ceremony could be best described as pseudo-Quaker. Our reception was a farm-to-table communion meal. Our wedding dance: essentially a music festival. It was a full picture of our ministry as a couple. I grew up in the Dakotas. It's not my favorite location in the world. I have a dad, a mom, and a sister. My parents have been together for about 30 years. We love each other, but it's a bit dysfunctional. I am now a free lance gardener. I promote gardening, community, and preferably a combination thereof.
Quote | This entry was posted in Sex and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

